Skip the navigation
Flash Version

Community

AIDS/HIV

About

At the end of 2009 there were an estimated 75,000 people in Canada living with HIV - up from 50,000 in 2002. Of these, around 30% were unaware of their infection. It is estimated that between 2,300 and 4,500 new HIV infections occur in Canada each year, though many of these are not reported right away. From the start of testing in November 1985 until the end of December 2007, there have been 64,800 positive HIV tests reported to CIDPC (Centre for Infectious Disease Prevention and Control).

About this Playlist

Back in 1985, when Canadian filmmaker Nik Sheehan made “AIDS: No Sad Songs”, the topic of Aids/HIV was socially and politically taboo. At the time the AIDS crisis had generated many films on the medical aspects of the disease, but Nik’s documentary was the first to focus on the emotional and psychological effects on victims, their friends and families. The film centres on Jim Black, age 37, who faces an early death from AIDS; and Catherine Hunt, whose beloved brother suffers from AIDS. Jim has made it his personal crusade to deal openly with the issues of AIDS and not regard it as a shameful disease. Candidly, he reveals his tenderness for his friend Kevin and the hurt he experienced by his family's rejection. Catherine is an impassioned example of a supportive family member. We learn from her how the open expression of love and trust makes it easier to bear sickness and the prospect of death. This documentary offers powerful insight into the effects this disease has on loved ones and family.

Of course, AIDS is a global crisis and no country is more affected than South Africa. In fact, Sub-Saharan Africa is more heavily affected by HIV and AIDS than any other region of the world. An estimated 22.4 million people are living with HIV in the region - around two thirds of the global total. In 2008 around 1.4 million people died from AIDS in sub-Saharan Africa and 1.9 million people became infected with HIV. Since the beginning of the epidemic more than 14 million children have lost one or both parents to AIDS. The belief among many African black men that sex with a virgin -- even a child or baby -- can cure HIV/AIDS is fueling what is already one of the highest child sexual exploitation rates in the world. According to the latest report by South Africa's Police Service, children are the victims of 41 percent of all rapes and attempted rapes reported in the country. Over 15 percent of all reported rapes are against children under 11, and another 26 percent against children 12-17. For the year 2000, some 58 children were raped or the victims of rape attempts in South Africa every single day.

In “No Past To Speak Of”, filmmaker Jeremy Gans, shares a heartbreaking story of infant rape with us. On December 10, 2001, Claudia Ford, an American living in South Africa, received a phone call that would forever change her life-Vyanna, a 5-month-old baby, had been brutally raped in Johannesburg. The film follows Ford as she adopts Vyanna, trying to come to terms with the trauma her new daughter has experienced. Vyanna's case was one of over 20,000 reported child rapes in South Africa in 2001. “No Past to Speak Of” attempts to make sense of this epidemic of infant rapes, from an exploration of the myth that having sex with a virgin will cure AIDS to looking at the profound dehumanizing effect of apartheid on those living in the townships. This moving story shows how a history of violence has left lasting scars on a country searching to redefine its future.

Both documentaries are candid and direct in their storytelling with no punches pulled regarding the impact of this disease.


Additional Online Resources

Canadian Aids Society

Canadian Foundation For Aids Research

Aids Youth Canada

Aids Committee Of Toronto

Selected Films (2)
  1. AIDS: No Sad Songs Preview Thumbnail
    AIDS: No Sad Songs
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:1985
    » View Documentary
  2. No Past to Speak Of Preview Thumbnail
    No Past to Speak Of
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2006
    » View Documentary

Most Popular
Check out what your fellow doc lovers are watching.
Reel Asian
Showcasing alumni filmmakers from past Reel Asian festivals.
The Images Festival
The Images Festival looks at the dynamics of accessibility.
Doc Challenge
A timed competition where filmmakers have 5 days to make a short doc.
Brian Linehan
Brian Linehan was best known for his celebrity interviews.
CitySonic
Toronto sounds good. It always has.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
NFB
NFB films have influenced the works of filmmakers around the world.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Industry Corner 2009
Video and audio captures of all public series' and industry sessions at Hot Docs.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Industry Sessions Knowledge Capture
Industry Resources
Resources to be used in conjunction with video captured 2013 industry sessions.
Educators
Doc Library films with educational resources for high school.
Inspirit Foundation
Docs about pluralism and diversity of beliefs
Filmmaker Interviews
Interviews and Q&A's
AIDS/HIV
Aids/HIV Docs
THE PLIGHT OF HOMELESSNESS
Docs on Homelessness
FOR MUSIC LOVERS
Docs for Music Lovers
Canadiana
Films about Canada
LOVE, THE MANY DOCUMENTED THING.
Docs About Love
DEALING WITH DISABILITY
Docs on Dealing with Disabilities
GROWING OLD GRACEFULLY
Docs on Aging
THE WONDER YEARS?
Films about Growing Up
CANADA’S OWN WONDER OF THE WORLD
Niagara Falls
DEATH IN ALL ITS FORMS
Films About Dealing with Death

Sauter la navigation du site
Version Flash

Communauté

SIDA/VIH

À propos

À la fin de 2009, il y avait à peut prés 75.000 personnes au Canada vivant avec le VIH - elles étaient 50.000 en 2002. De ce nombre, environ 30% n'étaient pas au courant de leur infection. On estime qu’entre 2.300 et 4.500 nouvelles infections VIH surviennent au Canada chaque année, et beaucoup d'entre elles ne sont pas signalées immédiatement. Depuis le début des tests en Novembre 1985 et jusqu'à la fin de Décembre 2007, il ya eu 64.800 tests positifs VIH signalés au CPCMI (Centre for Infecti

À propos de ce playlist

En 1985, quand le cinéaste canadien Nik Sheehan a fait « AIDS: Non Sad Songs », le thème du SIDA/VIH était socialement et politiquement tabou. En ce temps, la crise du SIDA suscita de nombreux films sur les aspects médicaux de la maladie, mais le documentaire de Nik était le premier à mettre l'accent sur les effets émotionnels et psychologiques sur les victimes, leurs familles et amis. Le film est centré sur Jim Black, 37 ans, qui fait face à une mort précoce du SIDA, et Catherine Hunt, dont son frère bien-aimé est atteint du SIDA. Jim a fait sa croisade personnelle d'aborder ouvertement les questions du SIDA et de ne pas la considérer comme une maladie honteuse. Il révèle franchement, sa tendresse pour son ami Kevin et la souffrance qu'il a connu par le rejet de sa famille. Catherine est un exemple d'un membre passionné d’une famille qui offre le soutien. Nous apprenons d’elle comment une expression ouverte d'amour et de confiance, rend plus facile à supporter la maladie et la perspective de la mort. Ce documentaire offre un aperçu puissant sur les effets de cette maladie sur les proches et la famille.

Bien sûr, bien sûr, le SIDA est une crise mondiale et aucun pays n'est plus touché que l'Afrique du Sud. En fait, l'Afrique subsaharienne est fortement plus affectée par le VIH et le SIDA que toute autre région du monde. On estime que 22,4 millions de personnes vivent avec le VIH dans la région - environ les deux tiers du total mondial. En 2008, environ 1,4 millions de personnes sont mortes du SIDA en Afrique sub-saharienne et 1,9 millions de personnes ont été infectées par le VIH. Depuis le début de l'épidémie plus de 14 millions d'enfants ont perdu un ou leurs deux parents au SIDA. La croyance parmi beaucoup d'hommes africains noirs que les rapports sexuels avec une vierge - même un enfant ou un bébé - peuvent guérir le VIH/SIDA alimente ce qui est déjà l'un des taux les plus élevés exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans le monde. Selon le dernier rapport du Service de police de l'Afrique du Sud, les enfants sont les victimes de 41 pour cent de tous les viols et tentatives de viols signalés dans le pays. Plus de 15 pour cent des viols signalés sont contre des enfants de moins de 11, et un autre 26 pour cent contre les enfants de 12-17. Pour l'année 2000 en Afrique du Sud, tous les jours, quelque 58 enfants ont été violés ou victimes de tentatives de viol.

Dans « Pas de Passé pour en Parler », le réalisateur Jeremy Gans, partage avec nous une histoire déchirante de viol infantile. Le 10 Décembre 2001, Claudia Ford, une Américaine vivant en Afrique du Sud, reçu un appel téléphonique qui allait à jamais changer sa vie. Vyanna, un bébé de 5 mois, avait été brutalement violée à Johannesburg. Le film suit Ford quand elle adopte Vyanna, en essayant de finir par accepter le traumatisme que sa nouvelle fille a éprouvé. Le cas de Vyanna était un parmi plus de 20.000 plaintes pour viol d'enfants reportées en Afrique du Sud en 2001. « Pas de passé pour en parler » tente de donner un sens à cette épidémie de viols infantiles, à partir d'une exploration du mythe selon lequel avoir des relations sexuelles avec une vierge guérit le SIDA, à regarder le profond effet déshumanisant de l'apartheid sur les personnes vivant dans les townships. Cette émouvante histoire montre comment une histoire de violence a laissé des cicatrices permanentes sur un pays cherchant à redéfinir son avenir. Les deux documentaires sont francs et directs dans leurs narrations et ne ménagent personne quant à l'impact de cette maladie.

Films selectionnés (2)
  1. Pas de Chansons Tristes Preview Thumbnail
    Pas de Chansons Tristes
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:1985
    » Voir Documentaire
  2. Pas de Passé pour en Parler Preview Thumbnail
    Pas de Passé pour en Parler
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2006
    » Voir Documentaire

Les plus Populaires
Découvrez ce que les autres amateurs de Doc regardent.
Reel Asian
Cinéma asiatique contemporain et du travail de la diaspora asiatique.
The Images Festival
Le Festival Images examine la dynamique de l'accessibilité.
Le Défi Doc
Une compétition chronométrée où les cinéastes ont 5 jours pour faire un doc.
Brian Linehan
Linehan était surtout connu pour ses interviews de célébrités.
CitySonic
Toronto sonne bien. Ça a toujours été comme ça.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
ONF
Les documentaires de l'ONF ont influencé les œuvres de cinéastes du monde entier.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Le Coin de l’Industrie 2009
Des captures de toutes les séries publiques et les séances de l'industrie.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Sessions de l'industrie du festival 2014
Enseignants
Des films avec des ressources pour des classes de l’école secondaire.
Les interviews avec les cinéastes
Les interviews de Hot Doc avec les cinéastes et Q&A
SIDA/VIH
Le sort de l’itinérance
Pour les amants de musique
Canadiana
L’amour, la chose la plus documentée
Traiter avec des personnes handicapées
Bien vieillir:
Les années merveilleuses
Canada, sa propre merveille du monde
La mort sous toutes ses formes