Skip the navigation
Flash Version

Community

THE PLIGHT OF HOMELESSNESS

About

Homelessness in Canada has grown in size and complexity in recent years. While historically known as a crisis only of urban centres such as Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, and Montreal, the increasing incidence of homelessness in the suburbs is necessitating new services and resources. The demographic profile of Canada’s homeless population is also changing. In the past men used to comprise the majority of homeless persons, now women and children represent the fastest growing subgroup.

About this Playlist

In “Shelter From The Storm”, Michael Connolly follows one organization dedicated to eradicating the suffering that homelessness can bring though its behind-the-scenes activity -- the strategizing, the debates and the actions – which is putting homelessness into the public arena and pushing governments to act. A group of activists is working with residents of the now famous Toronto shantytown, Tent City, to move the community to a new location. This is one small campaign among many that the Toronto Disaster Relief Committee is working on to address the crisis in affordable housing. The residents of Tent City fashioned their own shelters to ensure their survival. They want a chance to get back on their feet and to do that they need affordable housing. This abandoned land on the shores of Lake Ontario that they’re squatting on is toxic with old industrial pollutants. The owner, Home Depot, wants Tent City off. The City of Toronto and the provincial Ministry of the Environment want Tent City off.

Daniel Cross’ "The Street" is a gritty portrait of 3 homeless men living on the streets near Guy metro in Montreal. Made over a period of 6 years, the film follows the ups and downs of these deteriorating lives and is an intense, intimate portrait of street life. Cross’ approach to filmmaking is as grassroots as it gets! He sees film as a medium for effecting social and political change. Daniel is best known for this feature which has won awards at film festivals around the world. One of Daniel’s most recent project is The Homeless Street Archive, which will empower homeless Canadians to tell their own stories on the Internet.

More than 28,000, according to the latest government estimate, are homeless in Montreal. Most of them converge in the downtown core, where they can maximize their income from panhandling. They're part of the landscape of the street. However there is hope - in December 2009, Quebec unveiled a new $60.5 million, three-year plan to fight homelessness, including measures to improve mid- and long-term housing options for people on the street. After a year of consultations between 10 different provincial ministries and public organizations, the plan is made up of 70 measures that address concerns "expressed by diverse groups in civil society," according to a news release issued by the Ministry of Social Services. The plan is designed to help keep more people off the streets all across Canada, while giving the homeless more housing choices, from short-term shelters to long-term residences, the Liberal government said.

Both of these documentaries shine a light on a growing social problem. Both of them form part of the solution while addressing the problem.

Additional Online Resources

United Way Toronto

Citizen Shift

Intraspec

Raising The Roof

Selected Films (2)
  1. The Street Preview Thumbnail
    The Street
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:1996
    » View Documentary
  2. Shelter from the Storm Preview Thumbnail
    Shelter from the Storm
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2001
    » View Documentary

Most Popular
Check out what your fellow doc lovers are watching.
Reel Asian
Showcasing alumni filmmakers from past Reel Asian festivals.
The Images Festival
The Images Festival looks at the dynamics of accessibility.
Doc Challenge
A timed competition where filmmakers have 5 days to make a short doc.
Brian Linehan
Brian Linehan was best known for his celebrity interviews.
CitySonic
Toronto sounds good. It always has.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
NFB
NFB films have influenced the works of filmmakers around the world.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Industry Corner 2009
Video and audio captures of all public series' and industry sessions at Hot Docs.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Industry Sessions Knowledge Capture
Industry Resources
Resources to be used in conjunction with video captured 2013 industry sessions.
Educators
Doc Library films with educational resources for high school.
Inspirit Foundation
Docs about pluralism and diversity of beliefs
Filmmaker Interviews
Interviews and Q&A's
AIDS/HIV
Aids/HIV Docs
THE PLIGHT OF HOMELESSNESS
Docs on Homelessness
FOR MUSIC LOVERS
Docs for Music Lovers
Canadiana
Films about Canada
LOVE, THE MANY DOCUMENTED THING.
Docs About Love
DEALING WITH DISABILITY
Docs on Dealing with Disabilities
GROWING OLD GRACEFULLY
Docs on Aging
THE WONDER YEARS?
Films about Growing Up
CANADA’S OWN WONDER OF THE WORLD
Niagara Falls
DEATH IN ALL ITS FORMS
Films About Dealing with Death

Sauter la navigation du site
Version Flash

Communauté

Le sort de l’itinérance

À propos

L’itinérance au Canada a augmenté en taille et en complexité ces dernières années. Si, historiquement connue comme une crise dans les centres urbains seulement comme Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary et Montréal, l'incidence croissante de l'itinérance dans les banlieues nécessite de nouveaux services et ressources. Le profil démographique de la population des sans-abri au Canada est en train de changer. Dans le passé, les hommes constituaient la majorité des personnes sans-abri

À propos de ce playlist

Dans « À L’Abri de l’Orage », Michael Connolly suit une organisation dédiée à l'éradication de la souffrance que l'itinérance peut apporter, à travers ses activités dans les coulisses - l'élaboration de stratégies, les débats et les actions - qui sont de mettre les sans-abri dans l'arène publique et pousser les gouvernements à agir. Un groupe de militants travaille avec les résidents du désormais célèbre bidonville de Toronto, Tent City, pour déplacer la communauté vers un nouvel emplacement. Il s'agit d'une petite campagne parmi d'autres que le Toronto Disaster Relief Committee travaille pour résoudre la crise du logement abordable. Les habitants de Tent City ont façonné leurs propres abris pour assurer leur survie. Ils veulent une chance pour se remettre sur leurs pieds et pour ce faire ils ont besoin de logements abordables. Ce terrain abandonné sur les rives du lac Ontario qu'ils occupent illégalement est toxique avec des polluants industriels. Le propriétaire, Home Depot, veut éliminer Tent City. La Ville de Toronto et le ministère provincial de l'Environnement veulent éliminer Tent City.

« La Rue » de Daniel Cross est un portrait cru de trois hommes sans-abri vivant dans la rue près du métro Guy à Montréal. Réalisé sur une période de 6 ans, le film suit les hauts et les bas de ces vies entrain de se détériorer et c’est un portrait intense et intime de la vie dans la rue. Cross a une approche populaire à la réalisation de films! Il voit le cinéma comme moyen d'effectuer des changements sociaux et politiques. Daniel est surtout connu pour cette caractéristique qui a remporté des prix lors de festivals à travers le monde. L'un des projets les plus récents de Daniel est « The Homeless Street Archive » (Les archives des sans-abri), qui permettra aux Canadiens sans-abri à raconter leurs propres histoires sur l'Internet.

Selon les dernières estimations du gouvernement, il ya plus de 28.000 sans-abri à Montréal. La plupart d'entre eux convergent dans le centre-ville, où ils peuvent maximiser leurs revenus de la mendicité. Ils font partie du paysage de la rue. Cependant, il ya de l'espoir - en Décembre 2009, le Québec a dévoilé un nouveau plan de trois ans et une somme de 60,5 millions, pour la lutte contre l'itinérance, y compris les mesures visant à améliorer les options de logement à moyen et long terme pour les gens de la rue. Après un an de consultations entre les 10 différents ministères et organismes publics québécois, le plan est composé de 70 mesures qui répondent aux préoccupations « exprimées par divers groupes de la société civile», selon un communiqué de presse publié par le ministère des Services sociaux. Le plan est conçu pour aider à maintenir plus de gens hors des rues partout au Canada, tout en donnant aux sans-abri davantage de choix de logement, des refuges à court terme à des résidences à long terme, comme a dit le gouvernement libéral. Ces deux documentaires font la lumière sur un problème social croissant. Les deux font partie de la solution tout en s'attaquant au problème.

Films selectionnés (2)
  1. La Rue Preview Thumbnail
    La Rue
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:1996
    » Voir Documentaire
  2. À L’Abri de l’Orage Preview Thumbnail
    À L’Abri de l’Orage
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2001
    » Voir Documentaire

Les plus Populaires
Découvrez ce que les autres amateurs de Doc regardent.
Reel Asian
Cinéma asiatique contemporain et du travail de la diaspora asiatique.
The Images Festival
Le Festival Images examine la dynamique de l'accessibilité.
Le Défi Doc
Une compétition chronométrée où les cinéastes ont 5 jours pour faire un doc.
Brian Linehan
Linehan était surtout connu pour ses interviews de célébrités.
CitySonic
Toronto sonne bien. Ça a toujours été comme ça.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
ONF
Les documentaires de l'ONF ont influencé les œuvres de cinéastes du monde entier.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Le Coin de l’Industrie 2009
Des captures de toutes les séries publiques et les séances de l'industrie.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Sessions de l'industrie du festival 2014
Enseignants
Des films avec des ressources pour des classes de l’école secondaire.
Les interviews avec les cinéastes
Les interviews de Hot Doc avec les cinéastes et Q&A
SIDA/VIH
Le sort de l’itinérance
Pour les amants de musique
Canadiana
L’amour, la chose la plus documentée
Traiter avec des personnes handicapées
Bien vieillir:
Les années merveilleuses
Canada, sa propre merveille du monde
La mort sous toutes ses formes