Skip the navigation
Flash Version

Community

Canadiana

About

The recent Winter Olympic games in Vancouver provided the perfect backdrop for a groundswell of big, bold, home-of-the-brave feelings that many will remember for a long time. Canadians are now closer together says a new survey commissioned by The Historica-Dominion Institute. The survey found that 80% of Canadians now ‘agree’ that they are a ‘Canadian nationalist’, up eight points from an identical poll taken a year before the end of the Olympics.

About this Playlist

In “Escape To Canada”, Nerenberg explores these events in a cleverly crafted, tongue-in-cheek fashion. Director Albert Nerenberg, the man behind the indie-doc hit “Stupidity” (also available on Doc Library), explores Canada’s new personality in this high-energy feature film. The story begins in 2003 when by apparent coincidence, gay marriage is legalized and the prohibition of marijuana is removed on the same day. Soon Canadians are not the only ones enjoying their newly forged liberties. Citizens from the USA flock across the border to marry their same-sex partners. Others come to smoke marijuana. AWOL U.S. army soldiers arrive seeking refugee status. To many, Canada has become a red-and-white beacon of freedom around the world. In other words, cold Canada could suddenly be cool. In his signature no-holds-barred style, Nerenberg weaves these compelling stories into a tongue-in-cheek argument for Canada’s place in the world.
If there's one thing that truly unites most Canadians, it's our national pastime of bashing Toronto. In this tongue-in-cheek road doc, “Let’s All Hate Toronto” Nerenberg follows "Mister Toronto" as he embarks on a coast-to-coast Toronto Appreciation tour, encountering "recovering Torontonians" and those who would be quite happy never to step foot in our fair city. Are we really Torauma, Onterrible? Yes, according to a "professional Toronto hater." And in Newfoundland they finally discover the answer to a question that has boggled them for ages: Why do all the trees point west? ("Because Toronto sucks that much"). Can the city that the United Nations cited as the world's most culturally diverse really be that bad? Or is the rest of Canada just a little envious of our obvious superiority among Canada's metropolitan centres? Let's All Hate Toronto gets to the bottom of Toronto resentment and envy.

Whether you’re a passport-carrying Canuck or not, these docs provide wonderful insight into the country and it’s people.

Additional Online Resources

Canadiana Connection

Canadian Resource Page

Canadian Collections

Selected Films (2)
  1. Let's All Hate Toronto Preview Thumbnail
    Let's All Hate Toronto
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2007
    » View Documentary
  2. Escape to Canada Preview Thumbnail
    Escape to Canada
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2005
    » View Documentary

Most Popular
Check out what your fellow doc lovers are watching.
Reel Asian
Showcasing alumni filmmakers from past Reel Asian festivals.
The Images Festival
The Images Festival looks at the dynamics of accessibility.
Doc Challenge
A timed competition where filmmakers have 5 days to make a short doc.
Brian Linehan
Brian Linehan was best known for his celebrity interviews.
CitySonic
Toronto sounds good. It always has.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
NFB
NFB films have influenced the works of filmmakers around the world.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Industry Corner 2009
Video and audio captures of all public series' and industry sessions at Hot Docs.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Industry Sessions Knowledge Capture
Industry Resources
Resources to be used in conjunction with video captured 2013 industry sessions.
Educators
Doc Library films with educational resources for high school.
Inspirit Foundation
Docs about pluralism and diversity of beliefs
Filmmaker Interviews
Interviews and Q&A's
AIDS/HIV
Aids/HIV Docs
THE PLIGHT OF HOMELESSNESS
Docs on Homelessness
FOR MUSIC LOVERS
Docs for Music Lovers
Canadiana
Films about Canada
LOVE, THE MANY DOCUMENTED THING.
Docs About Love
DEALING WITH DISABILITY
Docs on Dealing with Disabilities
GROWING OLD GRACEFULLY
Docs on Aging
THE WONDER YEARS?
Films about Growing Up
CANADA’S OWN WONDER OF THE WORLD
Niagara Falls
DEATH IN ALL ITS FORMS
Films About Dealing with Death

Sauter la navigation du site
Version Flash

Communauté

Canadiana

À propos

Les Jeux Olympiques d'hiver récents à Vancouver fournissent le cadre idéal pour une vague de soutien gras, pour les grands « home-of-the-brave » feelings que beaucoup se souviendront pendant longtemps. Les Canadiens sont maintenant plus proches, dit ainsi un nouveau sondage commandé par l'Institut Historica-Dominion. L'enquête a révélé que 80% des Canadiens sont maintenant «d'accord» qu'ils sont «des nationalistes canadiens », en hausse de huit points d'un sondage identique pris un an avant la

À propos de ce playlist

Dans «S’enfuir au Canada », Nerenberg explore ces événements dans un mode intelligemment conçu et ironique. Le réalisateur Albert Nerenberg, l'homme derrière l'indie-doc hit « Stupidité » (également disponible sur le Doc Library), explore la nouvelle personnalité du Canada dans ce long-métrage de haute énergie. L'histoire commence en 2003 quand, par un hasard apparent, le mariage homosexuel est légalisé et l'interdiction de la marijuana est annulée le même jour. Bientôt les Canadiens ne sont pas les seuls à jouir de leurs libertés nouvellement forgées. Les citoyens des États-Unis traversent la frontière en troupeaux pour épouser leurs partenaires de même sexe. D'autres viennent pour fumer de la marijuana. Des soldats AWOL de l'armée américaine arrivent et sollicitent le statut de réfugié. Pour beaucoup, le Canada est devenu un phare rouge et blanc de liberté dans le monde entier. En d'autres termes, le Canada froid pourrait soudainement être cool. Dans sa signature style tout est permis, Nerenberg tisse ces histoires fascinantes dans un argument ironique de la place du Canada dans le monde.

S'il ya une chose qui unit réellement les Canadiens, c'est notre passe-temps national de dénigrer Toronto. Ce doc de route ironique suit « Haïssons tous Toronto», Nerenberg suit « Mister Toronto » quand il s'embarque dans un Tour d’Appréciation de Toronto d’un océan à l’autre, rencontrant des « Torontois en voie de rétablissement » et ceux qui seraient très heureux de ne jamais mettre les pieds dans notre belle ville. Sommes-nous vraiment Torauma, Onterrible ? Oui, selon un « haïsseur professionnel de Toronto ». Et en Terre-Neuve ils découvrent enfin la réponse à une question qui les a époustouflés pendant des siècles : Pourquoi tous les arbres indiquent l’ouest ? («Parce que Toronto est tellement nulle »).Est-ce que la ville que l'Organisation des Nations Unies a cité comme la ville la plus culturellement diversifiée du monde puisse être vraiment si mauvaise ? Ou est ce que le reste du Canada est un peu envieux de notre supériorité évidente entre les centres métropolitains du Canada ? Haïssons Tous Toronto va au fond du ressentiment et de l’envie de Toronto. Que vous soyez un Canuck avec passeport ou non, ces docs donnent un aperçu merveilleux du pays et son peuple.

Films selectionnés (2)
  1. Nous allons tous la haine de Toronto Preview Thumbnail
    Nous allons tous la haine de Toronto
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2007
    » Voir Documentaire
  2. Évasion au Canada Preview Thumbnail
    Évasion au Canada
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2005
    » Voir Documentaire

Les plus Populaires
Découvrez ce que les autres amateurs de Doc regardent.
Reel Asian
Cinéma asiatique contemporain et du travail de la diaspora asiatique.
The Images Festival
Le Festival Images examine la dynamique de l'accessibilité.
Le Défi Doc
Une compétition chronométrée où les cinéastes ont 5 jours pour faire un doc.
Brian Linehan
Linehan était surtout connu pour ses interviews de célébrités.
CitySonic
Toronto sonne bien. Ça a toujours été comme ça.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
ONF
Les documentaires de l'ONF ont influencé les œuvres de cinéastes du monde entier.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Le Coin de l’Industrie 2009
Des captures de toutes les séries publiques et les séances de l'industrie.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Sessions de l'industrie du festival 2014
Enseignants
Des films avec des ressources pour des classes de l’école secondaire.
Les interviews avec les cinéastes
Les interviews de Hot Doc avec les cinéastes et Q&A
SIDA/VIH
Le sort de l’itinérance
Pour les amants de musique
Canadiana
L’amour, la chose la plus documentée
Traiter avec des personnes handicapées
Bien vieillir:
Les années merveilleuses
Canada, sa propre merveille du monde
La mort sous toutes ses formes