Skip the navigation
Flash Version

Community

LOVE, THE MANY DOCUMENTED THING.

About

Love may be a many splendoured thing but it has a unique ability to obsess us and drive us crazy. Not having love can sadden and torment us. Having the wrong kind of love may be worse than having none at all. Your love may be mainstream or non-conventional. You may have it in your possession, you may not. What would you do for love? What wouldn’t you do for love?

About this Playlist

At some point in their lives, everyone has asked the question, why is it so hard to find love? In “Lovable”, Alan Zweig reflects with disarming candour on why, if he longs for a partner and children, he is still single at mid-life. Through intimate, heartfelt and often hilarious interviews with a series of diverse, smart and attractive single women, Zweig explores yearnings for the romantic myths of our culture and the difficulty of finding and sustaining relationships. Some women have come to accept and prefer being alone, but many still dream of a future they can share. When his mother dies, the reality of dealing with such painful life experiences alone hits home. Rather than remaining the objective observer, Zweig approaches his female subjects as kindred spirits, sharing their vulnerability and openness. A perfect mixed tape of love songs provides the backdrop for this courageously candid look at love and longing.

In “Crimes of the Heart”, John Haslett Cuff examines the dark side of love. He is sure that his girlfriend is cheating on him. In a search for the reasons behind his jealousy and obsession, he remembers the shock of returning home from school to find his mother lying on the kitchen floor from a suicide attempt after one of her affairs ended. Brutally honest personal confessions about his own cheating ways during three previous marriages, a painful interview with his irreverent and adulterous mother about her affairs, and testimony by women who have compulsively sought new sexual partners reveal the causes and consequences of adultery. Cuff's odyssey of sex, booze, drugs and movies underlie this no-holds-barred investigation into the reasons women and men compulsively cheat on their partners, and provides a disturbing look at how patterns of betrayal are passed on from generation to generation.

Conformity is hardly the word for the subjects of Mark Achbar’s “Two Brides and a Scalpel”, which looks at non-tradition love. Transgendered people face lost jobs, estrangement from family and friends, complicated surgical procedures, ridicule and threats of violence. But for some, in their pursuit for love and internal peace, the risk is worth it. Burly George Scott, a Canadian tractor driver, becomes Georgina during the course of the film, in the process divorcing his wife and starting a new life with lesbian Linda Fraser. All the medical details are here, and in close-up, along with visual quotes from Doris Wishman’s exploitation classic Let Me Die a Woman. But most inspiring is the women’s powerful loving dynamic, which manages to overcome the often daunting problems associated with transgendering.

Love has the power to unite and divide. However, it is the underlying emotion that we all search for. These documentaries look at love in all its forms.

Additional Online Resources

Loving You

Love Dating Marriage Relationships

Transgender Canada Forums

Selected Films (4)
  1. Love on the Street Preview Thumbnail
    Love on the Street
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2009
    » View Documentary
  2. Two Brides and a Scalpel Preview Thumbnail
    Two Brides and a Scalpel
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:1999
    » View Documentary
  3. Lovable Preview Thumbnail
    Lovable
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2007
    » View Documentary
  4. Crimes of the Heart Preview Thumbnail
    Crimes of the Heart
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2003
    » View Documentary

Most Popular
Check out what your fellow doc lovers are watching.
Reel Asian
Showcasing alumni filmmakers from past Reel Asian festivals.
The Images Festival
The Images Festival looks at the dynamics of accessibility.
NFB
NFB films have influenced the works of filmmakers around the world.
Doc Challenge
A timed competition where filmmakers have 5 days to make a short doc.
Brian Linehan
Brian Linehan was best known for his celebrity interviews.
CitySonic
Toronto sounds good. It always has.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Industry Corner 2009
Video and audio captures of all public series' and industry sessions at Hot Docs.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Festival Industry Sessions from 2014
Industry Resources
Resources to be used in conjunction with video captured 2013 industry sessions.
Educators
Doc Library films with educational resources for high school.
Inspirit Foundation
Docs about pluralism and diversity of beliefs
Filmmaker Interviews
Interviews and Q&A's
AIDS/HIV
Aids/HIV Docs
THE PLIGHT OF HOMELESSNESS
Docs on Homelessness
FOR MUSIC LOVERS
Docs for Music Lovers
Canadiana
Films about Canada
LOVE, THE MANY DOCUMENTED THING.
Docs About Love
DEALING WITH DISABILITY
Docs on Dealing with Disabilities
GROWING OLD GRACEFULLY
Docs on Aging
THE WONDER YEARS?
Films about Growing Up
CANADA’S OWN WONDER OF THE WORLD
Niagara Falls
DEATH IN ALL ITS FORMS
Films About Dealing with Death

Sauter la navigation du site
Version Flash

Communauté

L’amour, la chose la plus documentée

À propos

L’amour peut être une splendeur mais il a une capacité unique à nous obséder et à nous rendrent fous. Ne pas avoir d'amour peut nous attrister et nous tourmenter. Ayant le mauvais type d'amour peut être pire que ne pas en avoir du tout. Votre amour peut être ordinaire ou non-conventionnel. Vous pouvez l'avoir en votre possession, ou pas. Que feriez-vous pour l'amour? Que ne feriez-vous pas pour l'amour?

À propos de ce playlist

À un moment donné, chacun s’est posé la question, pourquoi est-il si difficile de trouver l’amour ? Dans « Aimable », Alan Zweig reflète avec une candeur désarmante sur pourquoi, s'il aspire à un partenaire et des enfants, il est encore célibataire à mi-vie. À travers d’interviews intimes, sincères et souvent hilarantes avec une série de femmes célibataires diverses, intelligentes et attrayantes, Zweig explore les désirs pour les mythes romantiques de notre culture et de la difficulté de trouver et de maintenir des relations. Certaines femmes ont fini par accepter et préfèrent être seules, mais beaucoup continuent à rêver d'un avenir qu'elles peuvent partager. Quand sa mère meurt, la réalité de faire face à de telles expériences douloureuses de la vie, seul le frappe. Plutôt que de rester l'observateur objectif, Zweig aborde ses sujets féminins comme des âmes sœurs, partageant leur vulnérabilité et transparence. Une bande sonore de chansons d’amour parfaitement mélangée constitue la toile de fond de ce regard courageusement candide de l'amour et de la nostalgie.

Dans «Crimes du cœur», John Haslett Cuff examine le côté sombre de l'amour. John Haslett Cuff est sûr que sa petite amie le trompe. En faisant une recherche sur les raisons derrière sa jalousie et son obsession, il se souvient du choc en retournant de l'école et trouver sa mère gisant sur le plancher de la cuisine d'une tentative de suicide après qu’une de ses affaires a pris fin. Des confessions personnelles brutalement honnêtes sur ses propres façons de tricher pendant trois mariages précédents, un entretien pénible avec sa mère adultère et irrévérencieuse au sujet de ses affaires, et les témoignages de femmes qui ont cherché compulsivement de nouveaux partenaires sexuels révèlent les causes et les conséquences de l'adultère. L’odyssée du sexe de Cuff, l'alcool, les drogues et les films sous-tendent cette enquête où tous les coups sont permis sur les raisons que les femmes et les hommes compulsivement trichent sur leurs partenaires, et offre un regard troublant sur la façon dont les modèles de la trahison sont transmis de génération en génération.

Conformité n'est pas le mot pour les sujets de Mark Achbar de «Deux jeunes mariés et un scalpel», qui jette un regarde à l'amour non-traditionnel. Les personnes transgenres font face à la perte d’emplois, à l’éloignement de la famille et des amis, à la complexité des procédures chirurgicales, au ridicule et aux menaces de violence. Mais pour certains, dans leur quête d'amour et de paix intérieure, le risque vaut la peine. Burly George Scott, un conducteur canadien de tracteur, devient Georgina au cours du film, pendant qu’il divorce sa femme et commence une nouvelle vie avec la lesbienne Linda Fraser. Tous les détails médicaux sont ici, et en close-up, ainsi que des citations visuelles de Doris Wishman de l'exploitation classique Let Me Die a Woman. Mais le plus inspirant c’est l’amour dynamique des femmes, qui parvient à surmonter les problèmes redoutables souvent associés au changement de sexe. L'amour a le pouvoir d'unir et de diviser. Toutefois, c'est l'émotion sous-jacente que nous avons tous recherché. Ces documentaires regardent l'amour sous toutes ses formes.

Films selectionnés (4)
  1. Love on the Street Preview Thumbnail
    Love on the Street
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2009
    » Voir Documentaire
  2. Deux jeunes mariées et un scalpel Preview Thumbnail
    Deux jeunes mariées et un scalpel
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:1999
    » Voir Documentaire
  3. Aimable Preview Thumbnail
    Aimable
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2007
    » Voir Documentaire
  4. Les Crimes du Coeur Preview Thumbnail
    Les Crimes du Coeur
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2003
    » Voir Documentaire

Les plus Populaires
Découvrez ce que les autres amateurs de Doc regardent.
Reel Asian
Cinéma asiatique contemporain et du travail de la diaspora asiatique.
The Images Festival
Le Festival Images examine la dynamique de l'accessibilité.
Le Défi Doc
Une compétition chronométrée où les cinéastes ont 5 jours pour faire un doc.
Brian Linehan
Linehan était surtout connu pour ses interviews de célébrités.
CitySonic
Toronto sonne bien. Ça a toujours été comme ça.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
ONF
Les documentaires de l'ONF ont influencé les œuvres de cinéastes du monde entier.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Le Coin de l’Industrie 2009
Des captures de toutes les séries publiques et les séances de l'industrie.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Sessions de l'industrie du festival 2014
Enseignants
Des films avec des ressources pour des classes de l’école secondaire.
Les interviews avec les cinéastes
Les interviews de Hot Doc avec les cinéastes et Q&A
SIDA/VIH
Le sort de l’itinérance
Pour les amants de musique
Canadiana
L’amour, la chose la plus documentée
Traiter avec des personnes handicapées
Bien vieillir:
Les années merveilleuses
Canada, sa propre merveille du monde
La mort sous toutes ses formes