Skip the navigation
Flash Version

Community

DEALING WITH DISABILITY

About

In March 2010, the Honourable Lawrence Cannon, Minister of Foreign Affairs, and the Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development, announced that, with the support of all provinces and territories, the Government of Canada has ratified the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities at United Nations headquarters in New York City.

About this Playlist

“Breakaway” tells the story of two Nova Scotia men, both brain injury survivors, who are in an unusual relationship. Doug hasn't walked or talked for fifteen years, but Robert has had a miraculous full recovery and is now Doug's full-time attendant, trainer and housemate. Robert is obsessively, even aggressively, optimistic about Doug's recovery, rigidly enforcing a no nonsense regime of tough love, even though Doug's condition fails to improve. A poignant film which considers the delicate balance between care and control, dreams and false hopes. Winner of 9 awards, including a Gemini Award from the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television: the Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary.

“Little Jesus” is the story of the filmmaker’s handicapped brother. It is the story of a miracle that never happened. It is the story of a storm. When director André-Line Beauparlant was 11 years old, her mother gave birth to a severely disabled son. The arrival of Sébastien changed Beauparlant's childhood and her familys life drastically. Her mother stopped laughing, her father stopped speaking. Beauparlant, her older brother and her sister had to suddenly behave as good children and pray for a miracle. Through a series of eloquently simple and searingly honest interviews with her family, Beauparlant probes the conflicted place that the recently deceased Sébastien occupies in their memory. For some, Sébastien was the very incarnation of the innocence of Jesus, of God's light; for others, he was a resented and painful burden. Winner of the Hot Docs Best Director Award for her 2001.

The backdrop to “My Sister’s Keepers” is when Michael Connolly's parents asked if he was willing to be guardian for his sister Denise if they were to pass away. Denise was born with intellectual disabilities and since becoming an adult, has had an increasing number of problems. Michael agreed, realizing that he had lived away for so long that he knew very little about his sister's adult life and care. He resolved that if he was someday to take care of Denise's affairs, that he had better learn more about her. Asking too many questions about Denise's living conditions, her medical treatments and how her parents ran her affairs, often put Michael into difficult confrontations with his parents. Doing research into books and films on people with intellectual disabilities led Michael to conclude that much of it was taken from a rosy point of view. His own family's experience with intellectual disabilities had been rocky and sorrowful. He resolved, with his family's blessing, to make his own film about the realities of living with intellectual disabilities. What followed were in-depth interviews with siblings and parents on how each saw the family history, what had gone wrong and how things could be different. They discuss institutionalization, parental control, the intervention of professionals and the right to sex for people with intellectual disabilities.

Additional Online Resources

Canadian Disability Policy

Canadian Centre Of Disability Studies

Learning Disabilities Association Of Ontario

Selected Films (3)
  1. My Sister's Keepers Preview Thumbnail
    My Sister's Keepers
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:1996
    » View Documentary
  2. Little Jesus Preview Thumbnail
    Little Jesus
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2004
    » View Documentary
  3. Breakaway- A Tale of Two Survivors Preview Thumbnail
    Breakaway- A Tale of Two Survivors
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2001
    » View Documentary

Most Popular
Check out what your fellow doc lovers are watching.
Reel Asian
Showcasing alumni filmmakers from past Reel Asian festivals.
The Images Festival
The Images Festival looks at the dynamics of accessibility.
Doc Challenge
A timed competition where filmmakers have 5 days to make a short doc.
Brian Linehan
Brian Linehan was best known for his celebrity interviews.
CitySonic
Toronto sounds good. It always has.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
NFB
NFB films have influenced the works of filmmakers around the world.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Industry Corner 2009
Video and audio captures of all public series' and industry sessions at Hot Docs.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Industry Sessions Knowledge Capture
Industry Resources
Resources to be used in conjunction with video captured 2013 industry sessions.
Educators
Doc Library films with educational resources for high school.
Inspirit Foundation
Docs about pluralism and diversity of beliefs
Filmmaker Interviews
Interviews and Q&A's
AIDS/HIV
Aids/HIV Docs
THE PLIGHT OF HOMELESSNESS
Docs on Homelessness
FOR MUSIC LOVERS
Docs for Music Lovers
Canadiana
Films about Canada
LOVE, THE MANY DOCUMENTED THING.
Docs About Love
DEALING WITH DISABILITY
Docs on Dealing with Disabilities
GROWING OLD GRACEFULLY
Docs on Aging
THE WONDER YEARS?
Films about Growing Up
CANADA’S OWN WONDER OF THE WORLD
Niagara Falls
DEATH IN ALL ITS FORMS
Films About Dealing with Death

Sauter la navigation du site
Version Flash

Communauté

Traiter avec des personnes handicapées

À propos

En Mars 2010, l'honorable Lawrence Cannon, ministre des Affaires étrangères, et l'honorable Diane Finley, ministre des Ressources Humaines et Développement des Compétences, ont annoncé qu’avec le soutien de toutes les provinces et les territoires, le gouvernement du Canada a ratifié la Convention relative aux droits des personnes handicapées au siège des Nations Unies à New York.

À propos de ce playlist

« Détachement » raconte l'histoire de deux hommes de la Nouvelle-Écosse, les deux survivants de lésions cérébrales, qui sont dans une relation inhabituelle. Doug n'a pas marché ou parlé pendant quinze ans, mais Robert a eu un rétablissement miraculeux et il est maintenant l’attendant à temps plein de Doug, formateur et colocataire. Robert est obsessionnellement, même agressivement, optimiste sur le rétablissement de Doug, renforçant un régime rigide de bon sens et d’'amour difficile, même si l'état de Doug ne s'améliore pas. Un film poignant qui considère l'équilibre délicat entre les soins et le contrôle, les rêves et les faux espoirs.- Lauréat de 9 prix, dont le prix Gemini de l'Académie Canadienne du Cinéma et de la Télévision: le Prix Donald Brittain pour le meilleur documentaire social et politique.

« Petit Jésus » c’est l'histoire du frère handicapé du cinéaste. C'est l'histoire d'un miracle qui ne s'est jamais produit. C'est l'histoire d'une tempête. Quand le directeur André-ligne Beauparlant avait 11 ans, sa mère donna naissance à un fils gravement handicapé. L'arrivée de Sébastien changea l'enfance de Beauparlant et la vie de sa famille résolument. Sa mère s’arrêta de rire, son père s’arrêta de parler. Beauparlant, son frère ainé et sa sœur durent soudainement se comporter comme de bons enfants et prier pour un miracle. Par une série d’entretiens simplement éloquents et aigument honnêtes avec sa famille, Beauparlant explore l'endroit en conflit que Sébastien récemment décédé occupe dans leur mémoire. Pour certains, Sébastien était l'incarnation même de l'innocence de Jésus, la lumière de Dieu, pour d'autres, il était une charge ressentie et douloureuse. Lauréat 2001 de Hot Docs Best Director Award

La toile de fond du « Guardien de ma sœur », c'est quand les parents de Michael Connolly lui ont demandé s'il était disposé à être le tuteur de sa sœur Denise s'ils venaient à disparaître. Denise est née avec une déficience intellectuelle et depuis qu'elle est devenue une adulte, elle a eu un nombre croissant de problèmes. Michael convenu, il se rendit compte qu'il n’avait pas vécu à la maison depuis si longtemps et qu'il savait très peu sur la vie adulte de sa sœur et de ses soins. Il a décida que si un jour il devrait prendre soin des affaires de Denise, alors il devrait apprendre davantage sur elle. Posant beaucoup de questions sur les conditions de vie de Denise, ses traitements médicaux et la façon dont ses parents ont géré ses affaires, souvent créa des affrontements difficiles entre Michael et ses parents. Faisant de la recherche dans des livres et des films sur les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle a conduit Michael à conclure qu'une grande partie a été prise à partir d'un point de vue optimiste. L’expérience de sa famille avec la déficience intellectuelle ont été difficile et douloureuse. Il résolut, avec la bénédiction de sa famille, de faire son propre film sur les réalités de la vie avec une déficience intellectuelle. Ce qui a suivi ont été des entretiens approfondis avec frères et sœurs et parents sur la façon dont chacun voit l'histoire de la famille, ce qui avait mal tourné et la façon dont les choses pourraient être différentes. Ils discutent de l'institutionnalisation, le contrôle parental, l'intervention de professionnels et le droit au sexe pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

Films selectionnés (3)
  1. Le Gardien de ma Sœur Preview Thumbnail
    Le Gardien de ma Sœur
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:1996
    » Voir Documentaire
  2. Petit Jésus Preview Thumbnail
    Petit Jésus
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2004
    » Voir Documentaire
  3. Détachement- Récit de Deux Survivants Preview Thumbnail
    Détachement- Récit de Deux Survivants
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2001
    » Voir Documentaire

Les plus Populaires
Découvrez ce que les autres amateurs de Doc regardent.
Reel Asian
Cinéma asiatique contemporain et du travail de la diaspora asiatique.
The Images Festival
Le Festival Images examine la dynamique de l'accessibilité.
Le Défi Doc
Une compétition chronométrée où les cinéastes ont 5 jours pour faire un doc.
Brian Linehan
Linehan était surtout connu pour ses interviews de célébrités.
CitySonic
Toronto sonne bien. Ça a toujours été comme ça.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
ONF
Les documentaires de l'ONF ont influencé les œuvres de cinéastes du monde entier.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Le Coin de l’Industrie 2009
Des captures de toutes les séries publiques et les séances de l'industrie.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Sessions de l'industrie du festival 2014
Enseignants
Des films avec des ressources pour des classes de l’école secondaire.
Les interviews avec les cinéastes
Les interviews de Hot Doc avec les cinéastes et Q&A
SIDA/VIH
Le sort de l’itinérance
Pour les amants de musique
Canadiana
L’amour, la chose la plus documentée
Traiter avec des personnes handicapées
Bien vieillir:
Les années merveilleuses
Canada, sa propre merveille du monde
La mort sous toutes ses formes