Skip the navigation
Flash Version

Community

GROWING OLD GRACEFULLY

About

The Canadian population is aging. It is a demographic trend that can be neatly plotted in graphics, counted in statistics and measured. We are undoubtedly living longer. Statistics Canada recently put numbers to this fact, pointing out the number of people aged 100 or older increased 50 percent between 1996 and 2006, and is set to triple to more than 14 000 by 2031. Meanwhile, Canadians are having fewer babies, shifting the historical balance between the young and the old.

About this Playlist

Award-winning director, Carole Laganiere, brings us “The Moon and The Violin”, a charming and wacky portrait of senior citizens, all musicians, painters, writers and actors who live at the Chez-Nous des artistes in Montreal. A former cabaret dancer recalls how the “topless” put her out of work; a singer with a voice like Edith Piaf still gives shows for a faithful following; a lyrical soprano whose glory was long ago sings a heart-rending ballad by moonlight; a jazz musician who had to sell his instruments makes a comeback with borrowed drums and vibraphone; a witty writer with a philosophical turn of mind talks lucidly of life and death. They may no longer have careers, and the world of the hip and successful may have forgotten them, but they continue to dream, work, flirt and hold eccentric opinions. In between concerts, passionate Scrabble® tournaments, card games played with a large print deck, and a heartbreaking aria sung under a full moon by an opera diva who never really made it, they present tender, witty and wise insights about life. Filmmaker Carole Laganière is exceptionally skilled at relating to her subjects; she asks tough questions about success, failure or approaching death, but respect and pleasure infuse this film with a depth reminiscent of the ballads of Edith Piaf, and a touch of the whimsy of Fellini's Juliet of the Spirits.

In “Living Dangerously”, two seniors with major health problems, Phillip Rowley and Helen Beck, are prepared to risk their lives living alone at home rather than move into senior’s institutions. Both have suffered falls and required emergency crews to rescue them. Terrified relatives afraid they will eventually kill themselves, struggle to change their minds before a tragedy occurs.

In “Alzheimer’s: A Family’s Journey”, the filmmakers focuses on the emotional strains of a family living with Alzheimer's. The film explores the disease on a very personal level for the filmmakers. Through the lens of the camera, the experiences and struggles of caring for a loved one with Alzheimer's are brought into focus.

In “Bunny and Leona”, John Kastner showcases two unforgettable elderly sisters, Bunny Drudge, 67 and Leona Mcleod, 72. Both find their lives torn apart after living together for almost 30 years when both abruptly move to different senior’s homes. The film follows them over a turbulent year as they grapple with the wrenching transition to the institutions and the shock of life apart, after being inseparable.

All of these docs are bittersweet portraits of the human condition, with its ups and downs, its laughter and its tears.

Additional Online Resources

Help The Aged Canada

Aging And The Law In Canada

Canadian Centre For Activity And Aging

Aging In Canada

Selected Films (4)
  1. Bunny and Leona Preview Thumbnail
    Bunny and Leona
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2003
    » View Documentary
  2. Doc It! 2008- Alzheimers: A Family's Journey Preview Thumbnail
    Doc It! 2008- Alzheimers: A Family's Journey
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2008
    » View Documentary
  3. Living Dangerously Preview Thumbnail
    Living Dangerously
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2004
    » View Documentary
  4. The Moon and the Violin Preview Thumbnail
    The Moon and the Violin
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:2003
    » View Documentary

Most Popular
Check out what your fellow doc lovers are watching.
Reel Asian
Showcasing alumni filmmakers from past Reel Asian festivals.
The Images Festival
The Images Festival looks at the dynamics of accessibility.
Doc Challenge
A timed competition where filmmakers have 5 days to make a short doc.
Brian Linehan
Brian Linehan was best known for his celebrity interviews.
CitySonic
Toronto sounds good. It always has.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
NFB
NFB films have influenced the works of filmmakers around the world.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Industry Corner 2009
Video and audio captures of all public series' and industry sessions at Hot Docs.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Industry Sessions Knowledge Capture
Industry Resources
Resources to be used in conjunction with video captured 2013 industry sessions.
Educators
Doc Library films with educational resources for high school.
Inspirit Foundation
Docs about pluralism and diversity of beliefs
Filmmaker Interviews
Interviews and Q&A's
AIDS/HIV
Aids/HIV Docs
THE PLIGHT OF HOMELESSNESS
Docs on Homelessness
FOR MUSIC LOVERS
Docs for Music Lovers
Canadiana
Films about Canada
LOVE, THE MANY DOCUMENTED THING.
Docs About Love
DEALING WITH DISABILITY
Docs on Dealing with Disabilities
GROWING OLD GRACEFULLY
Docs on Aging
THE WONDER YEARS?
Films about Growing Up
CANADA’S OWN WONDER OF THE WORLD
Niagara Falls
DEATH IN ALL ITS FORMS
Films About Dealing with Death

Sauter la navigation du site
Version Flash

Communauté

Bien vieillir:

À propos

Bien vieillir:
La population canadienne vieillit. Il s'agit d'une tendance démographique qui peut être bien représentée dans des graphiques, comptée dans les statistiques et mesurée. Sans aucun doute nous vivons plus longtemps. Statistique Canada a récemment mis des nombres à ce fait, en soulignant que le nombre de personnes âgées de 100 ans ou plus a augmenté de 50 pour cent entre 1996 et 2006, et qu’il va tripler pour dépasser 14.000 en 2031. En même temps, les Canadiens ont moins d'enfants,

À propos de ce playlist

La réalisatrice lauréat, Carole Laganière, nous apporte "La Lune et Le Violon", un portrait charmant et farfelu des personnes âgées, tous des musiciens, peintres, écrivains et acteurs qui vivent au Chez-nous, des artistes de Montréal. Une ancienne danseuse de cabaret se rappelle de la façon dont le "topless" la fit perdre son travail; une chanteuse avec la voix comme Edith Piaf qui donne encore des spectacles pour un public fidèle; une soprano lyrique qui connu la gloire ça fait longtemps, chante une ballade déchirante au clair de lune; un musicien de jazz qui a dû vendre ses instruments fait un retour avec un tambour emprunté et un vibraphone; un écrivain plein d'esprit avec un changement d’esprit philosophique parle lucidement de la vie et de la mort. Ils ne peuvent plus avoir une carrière, et même si le monde branché et à succès, les a oubliés, ils continuent encore à rêver, travailler, flirter et à avoir des opinions excentriques. Entre concerts, des tournois de Scrabble® passionnés, jeux de cartes à gros caractères, et une aria déchirante chantée sous la pleine lune par une diva d'opéra qui n'a jamais vraiment réussi, ils nous donnent un aperçu tendre, plein d’esprit et sage sur la vie. La cinéaste Carole Laganière est exceptionnellement qualifiée à avoir trait à ses sujets, elle pose des questions difficiles sur la réussite, l'échec ou la mort prochaine, mais le respect et le plaisir infusent ce film avec une profondeur qui nous fait évoquer les ballades d'Edith Piaf, et un peu de la fantaisie de Fellini Juliette of the Spirits.

Dans « Vivre dangereusement » deux personnes âgées ayant des problèmes de santé majeurs, Phillip Rowley et Hélène Beck, sont prêtes à risquer leur vie, en vivant tous seuls à la maison plutôt que de déménager dans les établissements pour personnes âgées. Tous deux ont subi des chutes et ont eu besoin que des équipes d'urgence les sauvent. Leurs familles terrifiées, qu'ils finiront par se tuer, luttent pour leur faire changer d’avis avant qu’une tragédie se produit.

Dans « Alzheimer : Le Périple d'une Famille », Le cinéaste se concentre sur les tensions émotionnelles d'une famille vivant avec la maladie d'Alzheimer, ce film explore la maladie à un niveau très personnel pour les cinéastes. À travers la lentille de la caméra, on peu voir quelles sont les expériences et les luttes pour prendre soin d'un être aimé avec l'Alzheimer.

Dans « Bunny et Leona », John Kastner expose deux sœurs âgées inoubliables, Bunny Drudge, 67 et Leona Mcleod, 72 ans, après avoir vécu ensemble pendant près de 30 ans, ont trouvé leur vie déchirée lorsque les deux ont été déplacées brusquement vers différents foyers pour personnes âgées. Le film les suit pendant une année mouvementée aux prises avec la transition dévastatrice aux institutions et le choc d’une vie séparée, après avoir été inséparables.

Tous ces docs sont des portraits doux-amers de la condition humaine, avec ses hauts et ses bas, ses rires et ses larmes.

Films selectionnés (4)
  1. Bunny et Leona Preview Thumbnail
    Bunny et Leona
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2003
    » Voir Documentaire
  2. Doc It! 2008- Alzheimer : Le Périple d'une Famille Preview Thumbnail
    Doc It! 2008- Alzheimer : Le Périple d'une Famille
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2008
    » Voir Documentaire
  3. Vivre dangereusement Preview Thumbnail
    Vivre dangereusement
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2004
    » Voir Documentaire
  4. La Lune et le Violon Preview Thumbnail
    La Lune et le Violon
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:2003
    » Voir Documentaire

Les plus Populaires
Découvrez ce que les autres amateurs de Doc regardent.
Reel Asian
Cinéma asiatique contemporain et du travail de la diaspora asiatique.
The Images Festival
Le Festival Images examine la dynamique de l'accessibilité.
Le Défi Doc
Une compétition chronométrée où les cinéastes ont 5 jours pour faire un doc.
Brian Linehan
Linehan était surtout connu pour ses interviews de célébrités.
CitySonic
Toronto sonne bien. Ça a toujours été comme ça.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
ONF
Les documentaires de l'ONF ont influencé les œuvres de cinéastes du monde entier.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Le Coin de l’Industrie 2009
Des captures de toutes les séries publiques et les séances de l'industrie.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Sessions de l'industrie du festival 2014
Enseignants
Des films avec des ressources pour des classes de l’école secondaire.
Les interviews avec les cinéastes
Les interviews de Hot Doc avec les cinéastes et Q&A
SIDA/VIH
Le sort de l’itinérance
Pour les amants de musique
Canadiana
L’amour, la chose la plus documentée
Traiter avec des personnes handicapées
Bien vieillir:
Les années merveilleuses
Canada, sa propre merveille du monde
La mort sous toutes ses formes