Skip the navigation
Flash Version

Community

CANADA’S OWN WONDER OF THE WORLD

About

The Niagara Falls are voluminous waterfalls on the Niagara River, straddling the international border between the Canadian province of Ontario and the U.S. state of New York. The falls are 17 miles (27 km) north-northwest of Buffalo, New York and 75 miles (120 km) south-southeast of Toronto, Ontario, between the twin cities of Niagara Falls, Ontario, and Niagara Falls, New York.

About this Playlist

Niagara Falls is composed of two major sections separated by Goat Island: Horseshoe Falls, the majority of which lies on the Canadian side of the border, and American Falls on the American side. The smaller Bridal Veil Falls are also located on the American side, separated from the main falls by Luna Island. The Niagara Falls are renowned both for their beauty and as a valuable source of hydroelectric power. Managing the balance between recreational, commercial, and industrial uses has been a challenge for the stewards of the falls since the 1800s.

Over the years, quite a few adventurous souls decided to take on the challenge of the Falls. Annie Taylor, a 46 year-old widow, who taught school in Bay City, Michigan. She decided to go over the falls in a barrel, survived the ordeal but when she was rescued from the barrel, she stated, "nobody ought to ever do that again," and many still try.

Hundreds of thrill seekers have attempted stunts at the Falls since Annie's 1901 attempt, some giving their lives for the privilege. So many idiot thrill seekers have attempted these feats that a Daredevil Hall of Fame, located in the town of Niagara Falls, Ontario, has been opened in homage to this brand of people.

In “The Falls”, Michael McMahon’s evocative, slyly subversive tour of his hometown established his poetic, lyrical approach to the essay film, as well as his penchant for exploring Canadian culture from a playfully intellectual perspective. The "Canadian capital of kitsch" has many eccentricities and contradictions beneath its tacky tourist exterior. A member of a family of daredevils recounts the number of people who have perished over the falls, including his own brother. A resident of the notoriously polluted Love Canal tells of the twisted trees lining her street and the birth defects suffered by her daughter. “The Falls” deconstructs frames of reference to explore the connections and disparities between nature and environment, culture and commerce, legend and fact.

Additional Online Resources

Niagara Falls Tourism

Niagara Falls Webcam

Selected Films (1)
  1. The Falls Preview Thumbnail
    The Falls
    • Country:Canada
    • Year:1991
    » View Documentary

Most Popular
Check out what your fellow doc lovers are watching.
Reel Asian
Showcasing alumni filmmakers from past Reel Asian festivals.
The Images Festival
The Images Festival looks at the dynamics of accessibility.
Doc Challenge
A timed competition where filmmakers have 5 days to make a short doc.
Brian Linehan
Brian Linehan was best known for his celebrity interviews.
CitySonic
Toronto sounds good. It always has.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
NFB
NFB films have influenced the works of filmmakers around the world.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Industry Corner 2009
Video and audio captures of all public series' and industry sessions at Hot Docs.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Industry Sessions Knowledge Capture
Industry Resources
Resources to be used in conjunction with video captured 2013 industry sessions.
Educators
Doc Library films with educational resources for high school.
Inspirit Foundation
Docs about pluralism and diversity of beliefs
Filmmaker Interviews
Interviews and Q&A's
AIDS/HIV
Aids/HIV Docs
THE PLIGHT OF HOMELESSNESS
Docs on Homelessness
FOR MUSIC LOVERS
Docs for Music Lovers
Canadiana
Films about Canada
LOVE, THE MANY DOCUMENTED THING.
Docs About Love
DEALING WITH DISABILITY
Docs on Dealing with Disabilities
GROWING OLD GRACEFULLY
Docs on Aging
THE WONDER YEARS?
Films about Growing Up
CANADA’S OWN WONDER OF THE WORLD
Niagara Falls
DEATH IN ALL ITS FORMS
Films About Dealing with Death

Sauter la navigation du site
Version Flash

Communauté

Canada, sa propre merveille du monde

À propos

Les chutes du Niagara sont des cascades volumineuses sur la rivière Niagara, à cheval sur la frontière internationale entre la province canadienne de l'Ontario et l'État américain de New York. Les chutes sont à 17 miles (27 km) au nord-nord-ouest de Buffalo, New York et à 75 miles (120 km) au sud-sud-est de Toronto, en Ontario, entre les villes jumelles de Niagara Falls, en Ontario et Niagara Falls, New York.

À propos de ce playlist

Les chutes du Niagara sont composées de deux grandes sections séparées par Goat Island: Horseshoe Falls, dont la majorité se trouve du côté canadien de la frontière, et des chutes Américaines du côté américain. Les chutes plus petites Bridal Veil Falls sont également situées sur le côté américain, séparées des chutes principales par Luna Island. Les chutes du Niagara sont renommées à la fois pour leur beauté et comme une source précieuse d'énergie hydroélectrique. La gestion de l'équilibre entre les usages récréatifs, commerciaux et industriels a été un défi pour les gardiens des chutes depuis les années 1800.

Au fil des ans, quelques âmes aventureuses ont décidé de relever le défi des chutes. Annie Taylor, une veuve de 46 ans, qui a enseigné à l'école à Bay City au Michigan. Elle a décidé de descendre les chutes dans un tonneau, elle a survécu, mais quand elle a été libérée du tonneau, elle a déclaré, « personne ne devrait jamais faire cela à nouveau », et beaucoup essayent encore.

Des centaines d’amateurs de sensations fortes ont tentés des cascades sur les chutes depuis la tentative de 1901 d’Annie, certains ont perdu leur vie pour ce privilège. Tellement d’amateurs idiots de sensations fortes ont tenté ces exploits qu’un temple de la renommée Daredevil Hall of Fame, situé dans la ville de Niagara Falls, en Ontario, a été inauguré en hommage à ce genre de personnes.

Dans « Les chutes », ce tour évocateur et sournoisement subversif de la ville natale de McMahon, Niagara Falls, a établi son approche poétique et lyrique pour le film d'essai, ainsi que son penchant pour l’exploration de la culture canadienne dans une perspective intellectuelle ludique. La «capitale canadienne du kitsch" a beaucoup d’excentricités et de contradictions sous son apparence extérieure vulgaire de tourisme. Un membre d'une famille de casse-cou, raconte le nombre de personnes qui ont péri dans les chutes, y compris son propre frère. Un résident du Love Canal, notoirement pollué, raconte au sujet des arbres tordus qui bordent sa rue et les malformations congénitales subies par sa fille. Les chutes déconstruisent les cadres de référence pour explorer les liens et les disparités entre la nature et l'environnement, la culture et le commerce, la légende et le fait.

Films selectionnés (1)
  1. Les Chutes Preview Thumbnail
    Les Chutes
    • Pays:Canada
    • Année:1991
    » Voir Documentaire

Les plus Populaires
Découvrez ce que les autres amateurs de Doc regardent.
Reel Asian
Cinéma asiatique contemporain et du travail de la diaspora asiatique.
The Images Festival
Le Festival Images examine la dynamique de l'accessibilité.
Le Défi Doc
Une compétition chronométrée où les cinéastes ont 5 jours pour faire un doc.
Brian Linehan
Linehan était surtout connu pour ses interviews de célébrités.
CitySonic
Toronto sonne bien. Ça a toujours été comme ça.
TVO - Makes you think
www.tvo.org
ONF
Les documentaires de l'ONF ont influencé les œuvres de cinéastes du monde entier.
RIDM
www.ridm.qc.ca
Le Coin de l’Industrie 2009
Des captures de toutes les séries publiques et les séances de l'industrie.
Industry Corner 2010
Festival Industry Sessions from 2010
Industry Corner 2011
Festival Industry Sessions From 2011
Industry Corner 2012
Festival Industry Sessions From 2012
Industry Corner 2013
Festival Industry Sessions From 2013
Industry Corner 2014
Hot Docs Sessions de l'industrie du festival 2014
Enseignants
Des films avec des ressources pour des classes de l’école secondaire.
Les interviews avec les cinéastes
Les interviews de Hot Doc avec les cinéastes et Q&A
SIDA/VIH
Le sort de l’itinérance
Pour les amants de musique
Canadiana
L’amour, la chose la plus documentée
Traiter avec des personnes handicapées
Bien vieillir:
Les années merveilleuses
Canada, sa propre merveille du monde
La mort sous toutes ses formes